Push button for laughs

I do not intend to make this blog a daily activity…but sometimes we just have to share a little laughter.

Driving. On the other side of the road. On the other side of the car. 

Okay, we are learning–quickly. We repeat “hold tight, hold tight” for every left turn, “swing wide, swing wide” for every right.

We bought a car. The steering wheel is on the right. The on-off and volume button on the radio is on the right. The shifter is on the left.  We turn on the windshield wipers instead of the turn signal. Oops. Again.

Tonight I was following Dan to the airport. He was in the rental car. I was in our right-handed Subaru. She speaks Japanese. I don’t. I was not sure what she was telling me so I just smiled and nodded my head.

Freebird was playing on the radio–no kidding–but luckily it was sung in English. The car seemed chilly so I turned on the heat. The temperature is in celsius. Hmmm, faking all of these conversions may not work forever.

The speedometer is in kilometers per hour, which is really good because when I am driving on the wrong side of the road, 60 is terrifying enough in kilometers.

The mileage on the car is in kilometers, not miles–so is that called kilometerage?? 

At a stop light I got bored and started pushing buttons. Poof! Out pops a cool-little-auto-flip-up-screen-in Japanese, just like something from “I dream of Jeanie”!

When we bought the Subaru we didn’t know it has a navigation system–at least that is what I think it is. It has writing. It talks. But it is in Japanese. Fun stuff! Except I don’t know where we are going.

Dan got in the car and made me put my new Japanese friend away before driving. I think he doubted its navigation ability in New Zealand. Or maybe he is simply terrified of my driving.

Off to the grocery store, where I found these cool sauce packets. You really can’t make this stuff up. (I had made the pictures huge because you really need to read the small print).

imageimageimage

Moral to the story: travel. It is amazing what you will find.  And always push random buttons for unexpected laughter.

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Push button for laughs

  1. Love these! Will have to relay a “Charlie the pig” story that I heard on my trip last week! I’ll have to see if I can send some friends a copy of the above packet(s). And yes, you should be able to reset to English, but oh, the adventure of it all! XO.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

